Waldorf V’s Mainstream – the great debate

Firstly, I’m going to just add some links and excerpts that I’ve come across that I keep coming back to, because they resonate with me, they give me faith in my choice, and because I need somewhere to send people who do that wrinkled up nose or tilted neck thing.

A lot more to come… I need sleep now.

Our Waldorf School Perspective

“My eldest went through primary school in a Steiner school and couldn’t wait to get to school each day, he also had so much to tell me when he got home – which beats the old dialogue of ‘what did you do today? – “nothing”.
So we were very very happy – great creative work, great environmental education (they even had composting toilets), good all round ethical/philosophical education and high academic standards – he was well ahead in many areas when he started high school.”

“We’re at Steiner school for our kids and have been there for about 7 years now.  I was dreading making the school decision as the more I looked into them none of the mainstream options were what I wanted for our children.  I was initially reluctant after hearing some of the (what I now know are) myths – but went along to playgroup to see.  The first group I had was quite… full on LOL so the playgroup leader when I spoke to her encouraged me to try another group – I did and that was playgroup – some of the children in that playgroup are still at school with us all these years later.
Anyway, very glad we chose what we did.  Educate the ‘whole’ child not just the academics – I’m very pleased with what our guys are learning, and what they’re not learning at the same time.  I like what the children and parents/families bring to the school that I haven’t found elsewhere.  Because a lot of the things at school (used to be ALL of them) are done on a volunteer basis by the school community, you really have to want to be there, want to be involved and it’s great to have that – at the same time, those with heavy committments, new babies etc aren’t made to feel less – because we all know they are still contributing.”

“If you are considering a Waldorf education for your autistic child, I strongly recommend it. Especially early on. Lots of gentle sensory input. Lots of art, music…no computers, no plastic. Knd of meant to educate children in accordance with their natural stages of development. It’s just so nurturing. Don’t be discouraged by those who will roll their eyes and say “Well you know they don’t teach math or science…”. These people are stupid. Of course they teach math and science. It’s still *school*. Don’t be afraid to follow your own drummer. Give it a try.” https://autismwow.wordpress.com/tag/autism-and-waldorf/

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/index.php?/topic/122905-steiner-vs-state-education-round-1/page__hl__Steiner

Leave a comment